Royal Thunder “CVI” Set For May 22 Release on Relapse Records

PHILADELPHIA, Feb. 9 — Royal Thunder, the Atlanta four-piece Brooklyn Vegan described as “Johnette Napolitano of Concrete Blonde fronting Black Sabbath,” have completed recording their debut album, CVI. The album will be released on CD/2xLP/Digital on May 22 via Relapse Records.

“We poured all of our hard work and passion into this 10-song LP,” says vocalist/bass player Mlny Parsonz of the band’s mid-2011 recording sessions at Aria Recording Studio in Marietta, Ga. “We saw highs and lows along the way, but in the end we made it. We made something we are so proud of. We look back on our past efforts and take with us the good, and strive to keep going and growing. We can’t wait to see what the future holds and we hope this new album is an inspiration and light in the lives of everyone who listens to it.”

The band, which includes the aforementioned Parsonz as well as founder Josh Weaver (guitar), Lee Smith (drums) and Josh Coleman (guitar) will join Black Tusk for a half dozen dates leading up to performances at SXSW (specific showcase information to be announced shortly). Royal Thunder will also perform at this Saturday’s Scion Relapse Showcase at The Roxy in Los Angeles.

Royal Thunder released a self-titled EP in 2010 which won praise from a wide variety of outlets including Paste Magazine (“blues-infused rock’n’roll, wrapped in protective barbed-metal packaging”), NPR (“a revved-up Southern hard-rocker that howls like Led Zeppelin astride a psychedelic unicorn”) and Terrorizer (“‘Royal Thunder’ grabs you right from the first listen”).

Royal Thunder tour dates:

11 Los Angeles, CA The Roxy (Scion Relapse Showcase)

8 Memphis, TN Hi-Tone *
9 Chicago, IL Ultra Lounge **
10 Detroit, MI I Rock **
11 Portage, IN Camelot Arena **
12 St. Louis, MO Fubar **
13 Fayetteville, AR Stone Pony **
14 – 18 Austin, TX SXSW Festival

* = w/Black Tusk
** = w/Black Tusk, East of the Wall, Hull