Sandra McCracken Releases “Desire Like Dynamite” on Feb. 14

Jan. 17, 2013, Nashville — Sandra McCracken, the Nashville-based songwriter behind the pop-meets-folk gems Red Balloon (2008) and Gravity/Love (2006), returns with the stirring new album Desire Like Dynamite on Feb. 14.

Desire Like Dynamite is exploring the themes of desire at the most basic human level,” explains McCracken. “When you run after something, when you really want something, that can be a good and noble thing, or it can be self-centered. And at some point, your desire is going to intersect with somebody else’s, and that’s where relationships come into play. The whole album is about exploring the human story by way of that theme.”

McCracken has made three songs from the album available via NoiseTrade ( and is releasing a series of acoustic performances via her YouTube page (  The first clip, for “Dynamite,” is available now (

McCracken co-produced the eleven-song release with husband and fellow musician Derek Webb.  The pair have released a pair of EPs in recent years (TN EP and Ampersand) as well as performing on each other’s albums.  Also joining McCracken on Desire Like Dynamite are guest vocalist Matthew Perryman Jones, multi-instrumentalist Jordan Brooke Hamlin, Caedmon’s Call’s Joshua Moore and Waterdeep vocalist Lori Chaffer.

Desire Like Dynamite track list:

1. Go
2. Hourglass
3. Dynamite
4. The Wait
5. Redbird
6. Gridlock
7. Forgiveness
8. First Things First
9. Sweet Amelia
10. Fall On Me
11. In The Garden

Tour dates:

February 22    Leakey, TX    Laity Lodge
March 2    Ponte Verde, FL    Ponte Verde Inn & Club
March 9    Santa Rosa, CA    The Cove
April 22    Philadelphia, PA    Bifrost Arts Conference