Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood’s “Cold Molly” Remix Via Paste

Mar. 28, 2013, San Francisco — Mark Lanegan and Duke Garwood’s remix of “Cold Molly,” featuring guest vocalist Leila Moss (The Duke Spirit), is streaming now via Paste (—cold-mol.html).
The pair’s debut collaboration, Black Pudding, is available May 14 via Ipecac Recordings.
Lanegan, never one to shy away from unique collaborations, has previously worked with Belle & Sebastian’s Isobel Campbell, The Afghan Whigs’ Greg Dulli and as a member of The Screaming Trees, Soulsavers and Queens of the Stone Age.
“Duke Garwood is one of my all time favorite artists,” said Lanegan.  “Working with him has been one of the best experiences of my recording life.” Lanegan and Garwood met a few years ago while playing on the same bill and Garwood was again a frequent opener on Lanegan’s recent European tour.
Garwood has often been described in the UK press as Lanegan’s “spiritual cousin across the Atlantic waters.”  He is praised in his home country as a master bluesman, with The Quietus saying “The combination of Garwood’s murmured vocals and the sound he gets out of his guitar – which ranges from a rolling, loose finger-picking to shuddering howls of feedback – has a hypnotic effect” and The Mirror dubbing him as “London’s leading exponent of the wheezy broke-down blues.”
Lanegan’s most recent release is Blues Funeral,  which Mojo extolled as an “outstanding piece of work,”  Paste said “his fearlessness remains devastatingly affecting” and Dusted said Blues Funeral was one of “his strongest, and certainly his oddest, albums.”
Black Pudding was recorded at Pink Duck Studios in Burbank, Calif. by Justin Smith (Tegan and Sara, The Hives) and mixed by his Queens of the Stone Age associate Alain Johannes.
Black Pudding track listing:
1.  Black Pudding
2.  Pentacostal
3.  War Memorial
4.  Mescalito
5.  Sphinx
6.  Last Rung
7.  Driver
8.  Death Rides a White Horse
9.  Thank You
10.  Cold Molly
11.  Shade of the Sun
12.  Manchester Special