The Unsemble Release Debut Album on March 3 via Ipecac

Dec. 9, 2013, San Francisco –  The Unsemble, a new trio from members of Tomahawk, Einstürzende Neubaten and the Silver Jews, issue their self-titled debut album on March 3 via Ipecac Recordings.

The Unsemble is Alexander Hacke, Duane Denison and Brian Kotzur.

“We wanted to work on something that was typically not what we do,” Denison, explained in a 2012 interview with Rolling Stone. “Something that’s not so rock – and riff-based and overdriven in that way.”

The Unsemble, a 15-song collection recorded in Denison’s adopted hometown of Nashville, meets the legendary Jesus Lizard guitar player’s hopes of a more organic feel with the band effortlessly volleying between careful compositions and improvisation.  The result is an album that is experimental, clever and inclusive of numerous subgenres and cultures.

The Unsemble track listing:


  1. Krishna
  2. Circles
  3. Improv
  4. Act 3
  5. Chaingang
  6. Neon
  7. Improv 2
  8. Shadows
  9. Improv 3

10. Waves

11. Improv 4

12. Circles Revisited

13. Improv 5

14. Cyclone

15. Voices